

Foederatio Europea Orthodontica - European Federation of Orthodontics

February 2023

Call for Submissions for 2023 FEO Excellence Award

Dear Presidents and Delegates,

On behalf of the European Federation of Orthodontics, we are sending you notice of the FEO Excellence Award as above. We ask for societies to make their proposition before the 17th of March 2023 please.

FEO EXCELLENCE AWARD

The FEO Excellence Award was established in 2020 by action of the FEO Council following an amendment in the FEO Internal rules. It was approved at the Athens FEO General Assembly Meeting of 6th Dec 2020, and this will be its second presentation following the inaugural award to Professor Nigel Hunt of the UK in 2021.

The FEO Excellence Award is offered every second year to members who are registered orthodontists of an affiliated or corresponding society that have significantly contributed to the progress of orthodontics in Europe.

- 1. The Board will call upon nominations every other year.
- 2. The Secretary General will send a letter calling for nominations and stating the deadline.
- 3. A FEO affiliated society in good standing is eligible to submit a nomination to the FEO Excellence Award. Each nominator is limited to one FEO Excellence Award nomination.
- 4. To make a nomination the following is required:
 - a. a curriculum vitae,
 - b. a short resume of the contribution to the progress of orthodontics in Europe,
 - c. a letter of nomination and support signed by the president of the national orthodontic society, member of the FEO.

Criteria for nomination:

- 1. Nominee must be an orthodontist.
- 2. Nominee has made significant contributions to the science related to the specialty of orthodontics through research in Europe.
- 3. Nominee has made a significant humanitarian contribution as a clinical orthodontist.
- 4. Nominee has established an academic legacy, inspiring young generations in the specialty of orthodontics through teaching and research.

President

Angel Alonso Tosso president@feo-online.com

Vice-President Prof. Jörg Lisson Germany

Secretary General Alex Cash **United Kingdom** secretary@feo-online.com

Treasurer Isabelle Schaack

Luxembourg treasurer@feo-online.com

Administrator Danny Op Heij

Secretary General Adjunct Alberto Caprioglio

Immediate Past President Paul-Panagiotis Karvelas Greece

Official Webmaster Prof. Irina Zetu Romania webmaster@feo-online.com

FEO website: www.feo-online.com

Orthodontic Society of Albania

Société Belge d'Orthodontie

British Orthodontic Society

Bulgarian Orthodontic Society

Croatian Orthodontic Society

Cyprus Orthodontic Society

Société Française d'Orthopédie Dento-faciale

Germany DGKFO

Greek Orthodontic Society

Irish Orthodontic Society

Società Italiana di Ortodonzia

Societe Luxembourgeoise D' Orthodontie

FYR Macedonian Orthodontic Society

Sociedade Portuguesa de Ortopedia Dento-Facial

Romanian Association for **Excellence in Orthodontics**

Serbian Orthodontic Society

Slovenian Orthodontic Society

Sociedad Espanola de Ortodoncia

Turkish Orthodontic Society

Corresponding Members:

Egyptian Orthodontic Society

Israeli Orthodontic Society

Lebanese Orthodontic Society

Mexican Orthodontic Society



Foederatio Europea Orthodontica - European Federation of Orthodontics

February 2023

Call for Submissions for 2023 FEO Excellence Award (cont.)

Awards Committee

- 1. The Board of FEO and the FEO Advisory Committee comprising the Awards Committee.
- 2. The Awards Committee's decision will be final.

General Awards Process

- Each nomination can be accepted or rejected.
- 2. If accepted each nominee will be examined and voted in one of the 3 appropriate categories (See criteria for nomination point 2, 3 and 4).
- 3. If rejected the nomination cannot be presented again.
- 4. A majority vote is necessary in the award committee for the final selection among the 3 categories.
- 5. The final decision is communicated to the national societies.
- 6. The award is assigned at the following FEO session and GAM.
- 7. The award recipient shall be invited to attend as a Keynote speaker at the award ceremony to be held during the following FEO session and GAM.
- 8. The winner shall receive a prize of €1000, with a meeting registration and travel contribution of €500. This award will not be paid unless the winner presents in person at the FEO session in the year of their award.

Vice-President Prof. Jörg Lisson Germany

President Angel Alonso Tosso

Spain

Secretary General Alex Cash **United Kingdom** secretary@feo-online.com

president@feo-online.com

Treasurer Isabelle Schaack Luxembourg treasurer@feo-online.com

Administrator Danny Op Heij Belgium

- **Secretary General Adjunct** Alberto Caprioglio
- **Immediate Past President** Paul-Panagiotis Karvelas Greece

Official Webmaster

Prof. Irina Zetu webmaster@feo-online.com

FEO website: www.feo-online.com



Angel Alonso Tosso President



Alex Cash Secretary General

Orthodontic Society of Albania

Société Belge d'Orthodontie

British Orthodontic Society

Bulgarian Orthodontic Society

Croatian Orthodontic Society

Cyprus Orthodontic Society

Société Française d'Orthopédie Dento-faciale

Germany DGKFO

Greek Orthodontic Society

Irish Orthodontic Society

Società Italiana di Ortodonzia

Societe Luxembourgeoise D' Orthodontie

FYR Macedonian Orthodontic Society

Sociedade Portuguesa de Ortopedia Dento-Facial

Romanian Association for **Excellence in Orthodontics**

Serbian Orthodontic Society

Slovenian Orthodontic Society

Sociedad Espanola de Ortodoncia

Turkish Orthodontic Society

Corresponding Members:

Egyptian Orthodontic Society

Israeli Orthodontic Society

Lebanese Orthodontic Society

Mexican Orthodontic Society